The 8 Limbs of Yoga

June 14, 2011

8 Limbs of Yoga:

1.  YAMA:  The moral commandments
Non violence, truthfulness, non stealing, restraint and religious study, and non covetousness.

2.  NIYAMA:  The voluntary vows
Purity, contentment, fortitude, willingness to learn and devotion to one’s self to achieve ‘yoga’ or union.

3.  ASANA:  Physical postures
A scientific system of exercise and physical discipline that promotes physical and mental well-being.

4.  PRANAYAMA:  Breath control
Breathing practises that promote a balanced, less stressed frame of mind.

5. PRATYAHARA:  Sense withdrawal from the external world into the interior self
The control of mental energy to preserve personal energy.

6.  DHARANA:  Concentration of mind on a particular point or object
Development of the concentration.

7.  DHYANA:  Meditation
An uninterrupted flow of concentration, thus correct concentration leads inevitably to meditation.

8.  SAMADHI:  Self-realisation
Samadhi is the end result of dhyana; when the yogi becomes at one with the universal.